Enlightenment

Standard

What is enlightenment?  Or a better question is:  What do I mean by enlightenment?

And enlightened person knows the Truth of this reality.  And enlightened person is happy, or at least not unhappy, because they know that this reality isn’t as real as we think it is, and so there’s nothing to be upset about.  An enlightened person has a high vibration, and because of that other people feel good in their presence.  An enlightened person by existence alone brings up the vibration of wherever they happen to be.

An enlightened person lets go.  They let the thoughts that run through their mind and the events that happen in their life just flow through.

An enlightened person can choose to do something and then do it, because they don’t have inner resistance.

The truth of the matter is that I don’t think there are any qualities one can say that indicate enlightenment.  I think it’s a vibration.  And I think that there are characteristics that usually go with that, but that are just what we see from our own level.

Enlightenment is a high vibration.  And from there they see the transparency of life.  And so they don’t feel the need to grab on to anything, so life just flows through them.

2 responses »

  1. I remembered a funny incident when I first met my spiritual teacher 20 years ago. I was ostensibly interviewing him for a magazine article and I asked him point blank: “Are you enlightened?” It was a cheeky question. And he looked at me and asked: “And how are you going to check if what I say is true or false?” I realized how stupid the question was, and never asked him or anyone else the question again.

    • Yes, the word itself doesn’t come close to touching what is meant by the word. And how often do we even lay out what we mean when we ourselves think of the word? Mostly never.

      But as far as putting the word on a person, could an enlightened person even say that they were enlightened? No. They are beyond the word.

Leave a comment